TStv Africa

TStv Africa

  van Dijk believes Harry Kane dived to win a penalty in Liverpool’s pulsating 2-2 draw with Tottenham at Anfield.

Referee Jon Moss ruled Kane had been brought down after the faintest of touches from goalkeeper Loris Karius despite appearing to be in an offside position.

But Van Dijk thinks Kane was lucky to win Tottenham's first penalty, especially after Dele Alli had been booked for diving in the box moments earlier - his third such transgression since his debut in 2015-16.

"I think it is a dive. You see him (Kane) diving clearly and no one is talking about it but I think it is a dive," said Van Dijk.

"There is a lot of discussion about whether it is offside, yes or no, but I think it was offside as well.

"You could just see him making that dive. The referee made his decision together with the linesman. It was good for us that it got saved."

Asked whether he thought Kane should be retrospectively punished, the £75m defender added: "That is not something for me."

Post a comment

Commenting is fun! Drop your comment below and please share.