TStv Africa

TStv Africa

The Nigerian Federal Government has declared the tombs of Nigeria’s first Governor-General and President, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, first Nigerian Prime Minister, Tafawa Balewa; and Head of State, General Murtala Mohammed as national monuments.

Similarly, the first site where oil was discovered in Nigeria, in 1956; Oloibiri, in Ogbia Local Government Area of Bayelsa State, was also designated a national monument.

Further reports claim that one hundred new sites comprise 19 architectural, 57 historical, 12 natural and five technological sites as well as seven wildlife/forest reserves, were identified by the federal government for classification as national monuments.

Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, who disclosed this in Abuja, yesterday, while opening a one-day exhibition on the 100 proposed national monuments, said the initiative will enhance and consolidate the management and promotion of immovable cultural heritage in Nigeria.

Post a comment

Commenting is fun! Drop your comment below and please share.