TStv Africa

TStv Africa

Three Igbo groups, the World Igbo Youth Congress (WIYC), Igbo Students’ Association (ISA) and South-East Women Professionals (SWP), have shortlisted prominent Igbo politicians to run for presidency in 2019. The decision came after its extra-ordinary general meeting held in Abia at the weekend. This came few days after the Ohanaeze Youth Council (OYC) declared that there would be no going back on Igbo presidency in 2019.The OYC had declared should it not realise Igbo presidency in 2019, it would see to the actualisation of Biafra in 2020. A communique issued after the meeting was signed by Francis Njoku and Glory Izuora, president and secretary, respectively, for ISA, and Dr. Mrs. Nkem Nwuzor and Dr. Mrs. Helen Dike-Orji for SWP. Deputy President General of WIYC, worldwide, Dr Francis Ugwu, read out the communique to the media.

A paragraph in the Communique states:

“The following names have been shortlisted as possible presidential candidates of Igbo extraction: the Deputy Senate President, Chief Ike Ekweremadu, former Anambra Governor, Peter Obi, Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, former Abia Governor, Orji Uzor Kalu, immediate past first lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, Air Comodore Ebitu Ukiwe, (retd.), Lt. Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika (retd.), Oby Ezekwesili, Prof. Pat Utomi, Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim and Senator Hope Uzodinma, among others. These and many more will pass through screening by the Igbo Presidency Project Committee."

Post a Comment